Forum: Languages in Arda

Discussing: Old English/Anglo-Saxon

Old English/Anglo-Saxon

Tolkien used OE sparingly to stand in for Rohirric. Those wishing to add a little flavor to their tales of Rohan (or the Mark) can do so by checking the URL library. I've listed a glossary (alphabetical by modern words), a grammar site (basic stuff), and two lists of names (male and female).

I am more than willing to try to help out when it comes to translation, although you should be aware that I don't study OE for more than my own translation needs. I am not an expert and have never taken a course on OE. I do understand enough about grammar to be able to piece things together, and to know when I don't have enough information to make a grammatically correct sentence.

Basics of AS/OE grammar:

1) There are three genders: masculine, feminine and neuter, just as in modern German. Each gender has different declensions in nouns, and all adjectives agree in number, gender, and case. The "Old English Made Easy" site listed in the URL library is very comprehensive, and does list gender for nouns.

2) There are two types of verbs: strong and weak. Strong verbs form past tenses by changing an internal vowel; weak ones add an ending. The "Old English Made Easy" site does note strong and weak verbs.

3) There are two adjective declensions: strong and weak. As far as I can tell, it is something like German again: after a demonstrative pronoun (the, these) or a possessive (my, your), the adjective is declined weakly (because the pronouns tell you the gender and case of the noun). If the adjectives stand alone ('Strong adjectives' or 'The adjective is strong') then they are declined strongly (because gender and case now ride on the adjective... roughly).